Understanding the Four Types of Multiple Sclerosis

Understanding the Four Types of Multiple Sclerosis

Central nervous system nerve fibres are harm by multiple sclerosis (MS). It may eventually cause numbness, balance issues, muscular weakness, and visual issues. Many medication treatments can reduce nerve damage and halt the spread of the illness.

How common is Multiple sclerosis?

In the United States, almost 1 million persons have multiple sclerosis. Women are typically more affected by MS than males are. The majority of MS patients are diagnose between the ages of 20 and 40.

What are the signs and symptoms of Multiple sclerosis?

Optic neuritis, which causes blurriness and discomfort in one eye, is one of the initial symptoms of multiple sclerosis. Other typical signs include:

  • Variations in gait
  • Fatigue
  • Losing coordination or balance
  • Muscles cramping
  • Muscular lassitude
  • Numbness or tingling, especially in the arms or legs

Types of MS

  1. Relapsing Remitting Multiple sclerosis

  • The term RRMS refer to the most typical form of MS. It is characterise by brief intervals when new symptoms manifest and are refer to as relapses, flare-ups, or exacerbations.
  • Those who have this kind of Multiple sclerosis go through discrete bouts where their neurologic status deteriorates.
  • Relapses or flare-up episodes take place and are follow by periods of partial or full recovery.
  • During the healing process, no disease development takes place.
  • The first diagnosis for around 85% of patients is relapsing-remitting MS.
  1. Primary Progressive MS (PPMS)

  • A kind of MS known as PPMS is characterise by gradually deteriorating symptoms from the start with no remissions or relapses.
  • After being diagnose with this kind of MS, patients gradually experience decreasing neurologic function.
  • There are no obvious remissions or relapses.
  • The pace of development changes throughout time, with sporadic plateaus and gains.
  • Primary-progressive MS is present in around 10% of MS patients.
  1. Secondary Progressive MS (SPMS)

  • A more consistent progression of symptoms over time, with or without relapses and remissions, is a hallmark of SPMS, a subtype of MS.
  • After the early phase of relapsing-remitting MS, SPMS typically develops.
  • With or without flare-ups, remissions, or plateaus, the illness progresses consistently during its duration.
  • Prior to the invention of disease-modifying drugs, secondary-progressive MS was thought to occur in around 50% of relapse-remitting MS patients during a ten-year period.

There is insufficient information to say if a given therapy significantly postpones illness.

  1. Progression Relapsing MS (PRMS)

  • A kind of Multiple sclerosis known as PRMS is define by a disease state that has been continuously becoming worse from the start, with acute relapses but no remissions, with or without recovery.
  • After the first diagnosis, the disease progresses slowly in those with this kind of MS.
  • Neurological function is clearly deteriorating in clear attacks.
  • Relapses may or may not result in some recovery for the patient, although the illness still worsens.
  • Just 5% of patient instances of multiple sclerosis fall within this rather uncommon category.


Central nervous system damage is a symptom of the illness multiple sclerosis (brain, spinal cord and optic nerves). As a result of this autoimmune condition, your immune system’s defence mechanisms wrongly target healthy nerve cells for attack. The myelin coating that surrounds and shields your nerve cells is harmed by these assaults, causing inflammation. Nervous system symptoms, such as balance loss, eyesight issues, and muscular weakness, are brought on by this impairment. MS is treated using a number of options.